Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 23rd, 2012

Colorado, 1870. When James Laroche, buffalo soldier and sometimes bounty hunter, rides into Nelson City,Clear Creek County, he’s offered a job he doesn’t particularly want. Rancher Willis Kenny asks him to help catch a gang of cattle thieves who’ve been targeting his place, Gold Acres Corral. When Laroche refuses, Kenny calls the buffalo soldier a coward, and the town holds its breath to see the outcome. They want to find out whether Kenny will regret his words, or whether James Laroche is really a gun for hire. Also in town is Mack Satterfield, cardsharp and conman, who gets involved with a couple of soiled doves, Berita and Suanne, who are liable to bring him – and Laroche – plenty of trouble. A story of action, bravery, humour and double-crosses!

 

Welcome DM Harrison to our blog today!

1.     Tell us a little about   James Laroche  _____, what inspired you to write The Buffalo Soldier __ _______?

 I believe the Afro-American cowboy is an under represented and perhaps forgotten part of the American West. I wanted a different angle for a cowboy story. Not all cowboys were like John Wayne or Clint Eastwood. The story illustrates the prejudices the black cowboy had to contend. James Laroche gives back what he gets. Don’t mess with him! It’s not a political statement. It’s an observation. 

 . 2    Tell us a little about   Rose Mahoney _____, what inspired you to write Going to see the Elephant__ _______?

The journey of 3000 miles across from Independence Missouri to either California or Oregon was no mean journey and yet hundreds of thousands of people took it. Lots didn’t make it. I wanted to tell a story about a woman’s journey. I like strong female characters and I loved Rose Mahoney.

3.     Do you have a favorite character you have written?

I like all my characters – I don’t think I could have a main character that didn’t have nice traits however I don’t want them to be perfect. They sometimes have to do unpleasant things – but for the right reasons!

 4. What are you currently working on?

Several things but I’m concentrating on the follow up for ‘Going to see the Elephant’. Although Rose Mahoney completed her journey overland I wanted to continue the story. Find out how things turned out for her.

5. How long have you been writing?  What influenced you to start?

I have been writing on and off for many years. ‘English’ was my favorite lesson at school. I started to write ‘seriously’ after I took early retirement from work.

6.     How do your family/friends feel about your writing?

My husband is very supportive. He doesn’t mind late dinners and the place piling up with research books etc. Of course I don’t complain when he disappears off to play golf/cricket/bridge. Works both ways. The children (now grown up) are amazed that mum is an ”author’.

7.     Where do you hope to be in 5 years?

I want to still be writing and have even more success in publishing and sales. And be more savvy with websites, blogs, links etc, etc.

8.     Do you have any advice for new or aspiring author?

Believe in yourself. Continue writing and don’t stop because you get a reject letter. I have had lots stuff rejected, rewritten it (because I thought the story was good) and then got it accepted. Rewriting is a way of life. Learn by reading other people’s books. Why are they successful? Take a writing class. Join a writer’s circle.

9.     What is your favorite book? (one that you have read) and why?

My favorite of all times is ‘Crime and Punishment’ by Dostoyevsky – not a light read but it explores the character’s reasons and motives. It’s a fascinating insight into human nature.

I also love Lee Child’s Jack Reacher books. His thrillers keep you hooked. I love the ‘cowboy’ lifestyle’ of Reacher and perhaps we’d all secretly like to be able (occasionally) to play the hobo.

10.     On the fun side, what is your favorite television show and why?

I love the Gilmore Girls – Three generations of very strong women and of course all the trouble that causes between them and their family and friends. I hate weak female characters that swoon at the slightest excuse. I’ve got it on DVD as well so I can curl up on the sofa and watch.

11.                        Where can readers find you _________? (Include all links you want, facebook, twitter etc….)

 

 

Website – http://dmharrison.com

Facebook page -http://www.facebook.com/pages/DMHarrison/145387592140325

Twitter @DMHarrison123

 

Five things you don’t know about me:

I can be selfish now the children have left the nest- time for ME

I love to Zumba

My pile of novels ‘to read’ never decreases because I keep adding to them.

I don’t need to go shopping for clothes but sometimes I do just to treat myself.

I love having a bubble bath surrounded by candlelight.

 

 

 

Read Full Post »